loader image

Read Brahmavaivarta Purana in English

Brahmavaivarta Purana, one of the 18 Puranas of Hinduism, is the tenth Purana of the Vedas. Brahmavaivarta Purana is considered to be the oldest Purana. In the Brahmavaivarta Purana, the birth, death, and upbringing of all living beings of the entire earth-sphere, water-sphere, and atmospheric-sphere have been described. In this Purana, the description of Lord Shri Krishna and Radhaji Goloka-lila and the pastimes of Lord Shri Ram and Mother Sita in Saket-lila is found. In this Purana, the description of the glory of many gods and goddesses and a wonderful collection of many devotional stories is found.

Read here in one click ~ Brahmavaivarta Purana in Hindi


Brahmavaivarta Purana composed by Maharishi Vyasji has 4 sections, 218 chapters, and 18,000 verses. Brahmavaivarta Purana is divided into Brahma Khanda, Prakriti Khanda, Ganapati Khanda, and Shri Krishna Janam Khanda.

Brahm Section:-
In this section of Brahmavaivarta Purana, a description of various pastimes of Lord Shri Krishna, a description of the order of creation, and a description of ‘Ayurveda Samhita’ has been said. In this section of Brahmavaivarta Purana, the appearance of Radha in the form of Ardhanarishvara is shown by Lord Krishna from his left limb.

Nature Section:-
In this section of Brahmavaivarta Purana, a complete description of all the goddesses, characters, and their powers is found. The section begins by describing Yashdurga, Mahalakshmi, Saraswati, Gayatri, and Savitri. These five goddesses are known as ‘Panchadevirupa Prakriti’. She takes the form to protect all her devotees. According to Brahmavaivarta Purana, the supreme form of Raseshwari is that of Radha.

An introduction to the worship of Radha-Krishna is given briefly in this section. The various names of all the goddesses are mentioned in this section.

Ganpati section:-
In the Ganapati section of the Brahmavaivarta Purana, the story of the birth of Lord Ganesha, the glory of the virtuous fast, and the character and pastimes of Ganesha have been told. In this section, a list of 8 obstructive names of Lord Ganesha is given which are as follows, Vighnesh, Ganesh, Heramb, Gajanan, Lambodar, Ekadanta, Shurpkarna, and Vinayaka.

At the end of Ganapati Khand, it is said that Tulsi Dal should not be offered to Lord Ganesha. In this section ‘Dashakshari Vidya’, ‘Kali Kavach’ and ‘Durga Kavach’, ‘Surya Kavach’ and ‘Surya Stotra’ are described.

section of Shri Krishna:-
The last section of Brahmavaivarta Purana, Shri Krishna Janam Khand is the largest section, which has 100 chapters. In this section, the pastimes of Lord Shri Krishna have been described in detail. In this section, the destroyer of physical, divine, and material fears, ‘Shri Krishna Kavach’ has been mentioned. Whose recitation destroys all fears.

In this section 33 names of Lord Shri Krishna, 9 names of Balaramji, and 16 names of Radhaji are described. For the attainment of good fortune, in this section, a list of about a hundred objects, substances, and rituals has been given.

In this section, there is a mention of a specific date for bathing in various pilgrimages and getting meritorious benefits. In this section, ‘Karthik Purnima’ has been said to be particularly fruitful for worshiping Radha.


In the Brahmavaivarta Purana, by whose wish the universe was born, it is Lord Shri Krishna that is called Parabrahma.

This Purana has spiritual significance and scientific significance. In this Purana, the birth and upbringing of all those living beings have been described by Brahma ji in all the earth, water, and atmosphere of this universe. According to Brahmavaivarta Purana, there are innumerable universes in the universe. Scientists also support this


Read This Also

Vidur Niti in English

Chanakya mantra (Chant) in English

Hanuman Chalisa in English

Brahma Samhita in English

Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.


Related Books