loader image

Read Bhagavata Purana in English

The Bhagavata Purana is one of the eighteen Puranas of the Hindus. It is also called Srimad Bhagavatam or simply Bhagavatam. Apart from this, the devotion of Ras Bhava has also been described in this Purana. Therefore the main theme of the Bhagavata Purana is Bhakti Yoga. Traditionally, the author of this Purana is considered to be Ved Vyas. A detailed description of the incarnations of Lord Vishnu is found in the Bhagavata Purana. The Bhagavata Purana was first narrated by Shukdevji to king Parikshit. Maharishi asks Sutji about the 12 incarnations of Lord Vishnu by sage sages. Sutji says that I had heard this story from Shukdevji. I tell you this, and thus begins the Bhagavatam.



Out of the 18 Puranas, the Bhagavata Purana is the most important and famous Purana. In the enumeration of Puranas, this Purana has been accepted as the eighth Purana. In the Bhagavata Purana, Maharishi Sutji narrates a story to sadhus and sages. Sadhus and sages question Sutji about the incarnations of Lord Vishnu. Sutji would say that this story was narrated to me by Shukdevi.

The Bhagavata Purana contains 12 skandhas, 335 chapters and 18 thousand verses. In this Purana, the incarnations of Lord Vishnu have been described in simple language.


12 Wings:-

First Skandha:- The description of Bhaktiyoga and Vairagya is found in the first Skand of the Bhagavata Purana.

The second skandha:- In the second skandha of the Bhagavatam, the description of the origin of the universe and the form of the Virat Purush is found.

The third skandha:- In the third skandha of the Bhagavata Purana, the description of the child’s character of God has been told by Udvav.

The fourth skandha:- In this skandha of Bhagwat, the character description of the kings Dhruv and Prithu is found.

The fifth skandha:- In this skandha of Bhagavata Purana, description of the condition of all creation, such as ocean, mountain, river, Hades, hell, etc. is found.

The sixth skandha:- In this skandha, the story of the birth of gods, human beings, animals, birds etc. has been described.

Seventh Skandha:- In this skandha of Bhagavata Purana, the character of Hiranyakashipu, Hiranyaksha has been described along with Prahlad, a devotee of Lord Vishnu.

Eighth Skandh:- In this skandha, the description of Gajendra Moksha, Manvantara Katha and Vamana Avatar is found.

Ninth Skandha:- In this skandha, the life story and dynasties of Lord Shri Ram have been described.

Tenth Skandha: – In this skandha of Bhagavata Purana, the description of the infinite pastimes of Lord Shri Krishna is found.

Eleven skandha:- In this skandha, it has been told how the Yadu dynasty was destroyed.

Twelve skandha:- This skandha is the last skandha of the Bhagavata Purana, in which various eras and cataclysms and appendages of the Lord have been described.


Importance of Bhagavata Purana:-

Bhagavata Purana is said to be the most popular Purana among the Puranas. In this Purana, the victory of Lord Shri Krishna’s Leela has been told, so much is not in any other Purana. Therefore the Bhagavata Purana is a revered book for a devotee of Krishna.
It is said in Bhagavata Purana that…

Sarvvedantasaram hi Shri Bhagavatamishyate.
Tadrasamritatriptasya nanyatra syadratih kavita.

Srimad Bhagavatam is the essence of all the Vedas. A person who has become satisfied by drinking this Rasamrit, that person cannot take pleasure in any other thing.

The sins of birth after birth are destroyed just by listening to the Bhagwat Katha. Listening to Bhagwat leads to worldly and spiritual development. In this Kali-yuga, on hearing the story of Bhagavata Purana, a man crosses the ocean of the universe.


read this also

Durga Saptashati Patha in English

Vidur Niti in English

Gita Mahatmya in English

Brahma Samhita in English


Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.


Related Books